Forums & Website now forced to HTTPS

Noteworthy info from the Chaos team (forum Registration code, IRC info, etc)
Post Reply
Tim
Chaotic Dreams Team
Posts: 444
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 4:50 pm
Location: Proxy King Lair

Forums & Website now forced to HTTPS

Post by Tim »

Hey there! Yes, that's right --- I'm still kicking!

Now to the matter at hand:

HTTPS has been enabled on both the forums and the website for a while (though it took me until now to get it working properly on the website, for reasons I won't go into).

As of today, it is forced; that is, any http:// links redirect to https:// instead. There were some issues (most notably with the [youtube] tag), but I think I've managed to fix them.
If any problems remain (both the forums or with the website), let me know.
R.Flagg
Chaotic Dreams Team
Posts: 8460
Joined: Thu May 09, 2002 2:55 pm

Re: Forums & Website now forced to HTTPS

Post by R.Flagg »

Thank you Tim! (up)
Dr.Flay
Chaotic Dreams Team
Posts: 387
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:06 pm
Location: Kernow, UK
Contact:

Re: Forums & Website now forced to HTTPS

Post by Dr.Flay »

Groovy. This will at the least make sure the mighty Googles in the sky don't push us down the results as a penalty, and the warning messages in browsers are gone.
Importantly we can be more confident that no ones login credentials can be sniffed.

Well done indeed Tim, I know it was a royal pain.
Grade A rating
https://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/analyze ... dreams.org
Unreal Engine resources: https://yourunreal.wordpress.com
Register your Unreal site at http://forumdirectory.freeforums.org
Who is Dr.Flay ?
Tim
Chaotic Dreams Team
Posts: 444
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 4:50 pm
Location: Proxy King Lair

Re: Forums & Website now forced to HTTPS

Post by Tim »

Dr.Flay wrote:Well done indeed Tim, I know it was a royal pain.
Grade A rating
https://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/analyze ... dreams.org
Was surprisingly not that difficult. The forums were easy. Wordpress, on the other hand, was not cooperating.

I would've gone for A+, but I wanted Android 2.x support at the time ... which apparently I can't have anyhow (because it does not support SNI). Maybe I'll work towards A+ one of these days.
Post Reply