The Chaos Mac stuff (For Macs users only)

If you're having a problem with any of the UT versions of Chaos, post here for help.
halprin
MAC Daddy
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 2:18 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Post by halprin »

jb wrote:
R.Flagg wrote:
=DF=Scourge wrote:ok i want to boot my server in Choas VCTF ..... also i want it to be a 14 player server for now.


Hi! (wave)

I love you.

No, really, c'mere, give me a big hug....., come on....


TMI TMI TMI TMI :)

Hahahahaha :lol:
Image
Next PR release date: 2 weeks
halprin
MAC Daddy
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 2:18 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Post by halprin »

Mac version of 3323 is out for the Mac!
http://www.macgamefiles.com/detail.php?item=18155
Image
Next PR release date: 2 weeks
jb
Posts: 9825
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:29 am
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Contact:

Post by jb »

Thanks for the updates Hal!!
Jb
Me
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:15 am

Cant run the installer

Post by Me »

ive done everything it tells me to do but it wont wark. i have the 3323 patch, and downloaded the UMOD version. i have the new starter, what do i do next?
halprin
MAC Daddy
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 2:18 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Post by halprin »

Have you/tried to installed it yet?
Image
Next PR release date: 2 weeks
neurologic
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 6:16 am

Post by neurologic »

I am having problms, and heres which ones, well the Chaos realted ones anyway,

I have the installer (Version 4.0.0) which seemed to work correctley, (pointed to the .zip file) I got the installation was sucessful message anyway. If I point it to the MOD file it just sits there forever.
And the i have the Starter (2.0.1 I believe) I run the started and point it to my Unreal Tournament 2004 app) and click start... and nothing. no bouncing icons, no splash screen, just nothing, nothing to show a crash eather, just dead.
anyone have any ideas? and is there a way to verify that my installation was done correctley, files to looks for? and where?

Thanks.
halprin
MAC Daddy
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 2:18 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Post by halprin »

neurologic wrote:I am having problms, and heres which ones, well the Chaos realted ones anyway,

I have the installer (Version 4.0.0) which seemed to work correctley, (pointed to the .zip file) I got the installation was sucessful message anyway. If I point it to the MOD file it just sits there forever.
And the i have the Starter (2.0.1 I believe) I run the started and point it to my Unreal Tournament 2004 app) and click start... and nothing. no bouncing icons, no splash screen, just nothing, nothing to show a crash eather, just dead.
anyone have any ideas? and is there a way to verify that my installation was done correctley, files to looks for? and where?

Thanks.

Well the latest version of the installer is 4.0.1 but that will make NO difference.
So for the UT 2k4 path you clicked browse and selected the Unreal Tournament 2004.app and then for the File path you clicked browse and then choose the .zip file. You then made sure that you had ZIP folder selected and then you clicked Install, correct? It should of then should of come up with a warning saying that this could take a while and you press ed OK. It then took a while and then it said that it was succesfull, correct? You then started up the starter. If the UT 2k4 path was blank you clicked browse and selected the Unreal Tournament 2004.app and then you clicked Start CUT2 button, correct?

On a somewhat of a side note, I am going to write new versions of the starter and installer that will make a log file so that it will be real easy for me to see what is going on.
Image
Next PR release date: 2 weeks
halprin
MAC Daddy
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 2:18 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Post by halprin »

Verstion 2.5.0 of the ChaosUT2 starter is up! Please everyone update to this version so that if you have a problem, you can send me the the debug file which can be found in your home Preferences folder called "CUT_run_debug.txt"

Same URL as before. So neurologic, please update to this version and if it still does not work. Please send the the log file.
Image
Next PR release date: 2 weeks
Me
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:15 am

Still wont work

Post by Me »

the prefs file says this, what do i do? it says

Macintosh HD:Applications:Unreal Tournament 2004.app:
false
halprin
MAC Daddy
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 2:18 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: Still wont work

Post by halprin »

Me wrote:the prefs file says this, what do i do? it says

Macintosh HD:Applications:Unreal Tournament 2004.app:
false

OK, I need to add this into the read me. For UMODs and UMOD version only. What you need to do is make sure that wherever the UMOD file is located, anywhere in the path it can NOT have any spaces! So for you, I am assuming that your UMOD is located somewhere in the hard drive "Macintosh HD" and not some other hard drive. So just to install the UMOD, make it one word like "MacintoshHD" and then after you can change it back to normal. This is only a problem with the UMOD. The reason why it does not like spaces is because my program uses a UNIX program that comes with UT2k4 in which that program does not like spaces. So if you want it changed, email Ryan Gordon. This only effects UMOD versions and not the ZIP of the folders. Going to update the ReadMe now.
Edit: Read Me is updated
Image
Next PR release date: 2 weeks
Me
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:15 am

Still wont work

Post by Me »

ive installed it with the zip file, because if i use the umod it says something like NilClassException in an error message. any clues on why? also, does PR3.5 work on mac?

i have an emac 1.25 GHz with OS 10.3.5, any problems relating to the system?
thanks for any help u can give
halprin
MAC Daddy
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 2:18 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: Still wont work

Post by halprin »

Me wrote:ive installed it with the zip file, because if i use the umod it says something like NilClassException in an error message. any clues on why? also, does PR3.5 work on mac?

i have an emac 1.25 GHz with OS 10.3.5, any problems relating to the system?
thanks for any help u can give

Of course PR 3.5 works on the Mac, as long as your have the 3323 patch. If I am correct, make sure that you clicked browse when choosing the UT2k4 application. If for some reason you edited that text box after you choose the UT2k4 app or you decided to type in the path and it is incorrect, it will give you that error. So make sure that the path to your UT2k4 app is correct.
Image
Next PR release date: 2 weeks
Me
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:15 am

Thanks

Post by Me »

Thanks for the help, chaos works great now. Cheers! :D
halprin
MAC Daddy
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 2:18 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Post by halprin »

New version of the installer!
New is the ability to see when installing UMODs if there are spaces in the file path of the UMOD file and if there is, this program can change the names to be w/o spaces and then when it is done installing, change them back! Also gives you a warning if the file you are trying to install does not exist.
Still the same URLs.
Image
Next PR release date: 2 weeks
vernies_garden
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 3:49 am
Location: St. Louis, mo

i cant get the installer to work

Post by vernies_garden »

when i try to use the installer it tells me "this is going to take a long time" then i click install and it locks

what should i do?
"...and I know we all can't stay here forever, so I'll write my words on the face of today. And then they'll paint it..." ~ Shannon Hoon (Blind Melon)
Post Reply