Chaotic Dreams

Chaotic Dreams Official Forums
It is currently Mon Mar 30, 2020 2:07 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Location problems...
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 9:01 am 
Offline
Chaotic Dreams Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 4:50 pm
Posts: 443
Location: Proxy King Lair
I've got some minor trouble. I'm making a map and I can't move the brush to right location:
Image

I tried going into Brush Properties -> Movement -> Location and set it same as old brush, but here's what I get:
Image
I want the red brush on same position as blue one. I also checked rotation (you never know...), but nothing.
Any ideas what to do?

Location is totally the same, exept Z, that has nothing to do with top view.
When I finish those problems my map will be practically completed, and all I'd have to do next is some... Tiny tuning.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 9:13 am 
Offline
Chaotic Dreams Team
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 10:05 am
Posts: 1594
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Are these static meshes, BSP or both?

_________________
–The biggest trick the devil ever pulled, was convincing the world he didn't exist.–


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 2:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:29 am
Posts: 9825
Location: Coral Springs, FL
looks like the red brush was snapped to grid and the other was not??? Maybe one of the brushes got scaled?

_________________
Jb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 3:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 18, 2003 2:27 am
Posts: 638
Location: Upstate N.Y. USA
This happens to me sometimes when the selected vertex of the brush refuses to snap to a grid when there is already something there or really close to it. Couple things to try:
--Set the camera movement to the lowest speed and try to position the builder brush.

--Use the Show/Hide tools to hide the brushes that are already there, then position the builder brush.

--Highlight and move (temporarily) the brushes that are there, then place the builder brush and add the new gometry then reposition the brushes you moved out of the way.

--Right click somewhere out in the open (2d window), set pivot snapped there and try to position the builder brush.

Hope this helps. Good luck.
---Hamm---

_________________
"If you build it.....they will come."---Field of Dreams


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 5:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:54 pm
Posts: 611
u could also turn off snap to grid and move it by eye...but this is rather hit and miss. setting the grid size may also help(try 1, move it then reset to like 16 or so).

The snap to grid button is at the bottom, looks like a grid funnily enough.

_________________
"All i know is my gut says maybe"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 2:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:32 pm
Posts: 89
Location: SomeWhere Between "Huh?" and "WTF?"
subtract .5 to the X Y and Z...

_________________
^Current Map Project^
ONS-BlackBridge (Working name)

^Finished Projects^
DM-AKA-1on1-RumbleRoom

~~~~~~~~
Quitters Never Win, Winners Never Quit, But Those Who Never Win And Never Quit Are Idiots


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 7:21 am 
Offline
Chaotic Dreams Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 4:50 pm
Posts: 443
Location: Proxy King Lair
thanks, vela.. venaatom... ARGHH venalanatomica *copyed*, I was looking for this button :?
Otherwise I got snap normally set to 4. It's precise enoguh and you don't get confused :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 3:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:54 pm
Posts: 611
np.

its a common problem in the editor, especially when u have cylinders, and accidentally move the pivot point from the center to one of the corners..

btw, is my name honestly that hard to spell..... :?

_________________
"All i know is my gut says maybe"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 3:38 pm 
Offline
Chaotic Dreams Team
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 5:25 pm
Posts: 2331
Location: Wherever Dreams Go Stale.
venalanatomica wrote:


btw, is my name honestly that hard to spell..... :?


YES . it is. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 4:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 3:41 am
Posts: 711
Location: Mumbai, India
Pepito wrote:
venalanatomica wrote:


btw, is my name honestly that hard to spell..... :?


YES . it is. :)


It is quite confusing. Why didn't you get an easy name like I or Popeti here did? :lol:

_________________
<center><a href="http://home.att.net/~slugbutter/evil/" target="new"><img src="http://home.att.net/~slugbutter/evil/pureevil.jpg" border=0></a></center>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 6:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:54 pm
Posts: 611
lord_kungai wrote:
Pepito wrote:
venalanatomica wrote:


btw, is my name honestly that hard to spell..... :?


YES . it is. :)


It is quite confusing. Why didn't you get an easy name like I or Popeti here did? :lol:


LOL.


dont push it, at least its easier than my cs name...:

#dlele | ۷ёnåﺂÅnäŦőmícå

_________________
"All i know is my gut says maybe"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 8:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 3:41 am
Posts: 711
Location: Mumbai, India
venalanatomica wrote:
lord_kungai wrote:
Pepito wrote:
venalanatomica wrote:


btw, is my name honestly that hard to spell..... :?


YES . it is. :)


It is quite confusing. Why didn't you get an easy name like I or Popeti here did? :lol:


LOL.


dont push it, at least its easier than my cs name...:

#dlele | ۷ёnåﺂÅnäŦőmícå


jus kidding... simplicity of names dont make a diff. no offence pepito.

_________________
<center><a href="http://home.att.net/~slugbutter/evil/" target="new"><img src="http://home.att.net/~slugbutter/evil/pureevil.jpg" border=0></a></center>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 8:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 3:41 am
Posts: 711
Location: Mumbai, India
WOW!!! WEIRD!

Go to google and type in 'kungai' or 'venalanatomica' or even 'pepito'...

WTF!!!

_________________
<center><a href="http://home.att.net/~slugbutter/evil/" target="new"><img src="http://home.att.net/~slugbutter/evil/pureevil.jpg" border=0></a></center>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 8:41 pm 
Offline
Chaotic Dreams Team
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 5:25 pm
Posts: 2331
Location: Wherever Dreams Go Stale.
http://images.google.com/images?hl=en&l ... tnG=Search

3 of five are me. heh.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 3:41 am
Posts: 711
Location: Mumbai, India
Pepito wrote:
3 of five are me. heh.


Kool!

Im a Buffy demon???

WTF!!!

_________________
<center><a href="http://home.att.net/~slugbutter/evil/" target="new"><img src="http://home.att.net/~slugbutter/evil/pureevil.jpg" border=0></a></center>


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group