Chaotic Dreams

Chaotic Dreams Official Forums
It is currently Wed Apr 01, 2020 9:08 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Screenshots for my map
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 4:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 171
Location: England
I've made a map! However There's one last step I haven't managed to get working: the screenshot. I've been following the instructions I found on http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki/Screenshot and originaly couldn't get the material sequence to go in the levelproperties: levelsummary: screenshot. However I've just (5 minutes ago) fixed that by compressing the textures to DXT1.
So I've got my material sequence, it shows my screenshots fading from one to the other, it's saved in MyLevel, it's set as my screenshot, but still doesn't show up :roll:
Any help/ideas would be much apreciated.

_________________
Reality is that part of imagination we all agree on.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 6:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:29 am
Posts: 9825
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Mick wrote:
I've made a map! However There's one last step I haven't managed to get working: the screenshot. I've been following the instructions I found on http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/wiki/Screenshot and originaly couldn't get the material sequence to go in the levelproperties: levelsummary: screenshot. However I've just (5 minutes ago) fixed that by compressing the textures to DXT1.
So I've got my material sequence, it shows my screenshots fading from one to the other, it's saved in MyLevel, it's set as my screenshot, but still doesn't show up :roll:
Any help/ideas would be much apreciated.


Whats the log file say? Usally it will have the indicated error messages..

_________________
Jb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 171
Location: England
OK, I think I've traked down the error:
Quote:
Warning: Failed to load 'NULL': Can't resolve package name
Warning: Failed to load 'Material None.DM-Figure': Can't resolve package name

After looking some more on unreal wiki, I think this means (correct me if I'm wrong, I'm completely new to mapping and it's been a steep learning curve) that the material sequence can't be loaded, and that's because it can't find the pakage (which I set to MyLevel).
Oh yeah, DM-Figure of eight is my maps name by the way.

so, now what do I do now?

_________________
Reality is that part of imagination we all agree on.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 3:26 am
Posts: 1301
Location: Florida
It looks like you need to set the screenshot property to the material sequence.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 9:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 171
Location: England
But, it is set :(
Image

_________________
Reality is that part of imagination we all agree on.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 2:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:29 am
Posts: 9825
Location: Coral Springs, FL
see if your map has a ucl file name in the system dir. If so remove it and see if it works then. I have seen this happen before where the ucl file is created with out level preview in it. Then when its added you still dont see it till you get ride of the current mapname.ucl file in your system dir (a new one will be created).

_________________
Jb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 11:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:54 pm
Posts: 611
sometimes if you have playtested a map before adding a screenshot, it wont update the map for some reason in ut. try taking the map out of the /maps folder, playing chaos without it and then re-adding it ad playing it again to see if it has refreshed.

Another option is to find the map file ( its an INT file with your map name) in the /system folder and delete it.
Then when you reload the map in the editor and save it, it will recreate a new file for your map. (id backup this file first into a different folder just in case tho.) that should refresh the map settings and display any updated discription, screenshot etc.

_________________
"All i know is my gut says maybe"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 1:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 171
Location: England
It's working! :D I had to remove the UT2 and UCL files, then resave the map with a slightly different file name, and now it works.
Thanks for the help.
I'll move on to something a little more ambitious than a figure of 8 map now...

_________________
Reality is that part of imagination we all agree on.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 1:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 12:29 am
Posts: 9825
Location: Coral Springs, FL
yea :)

_________________
Jb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 3:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 171
Location: England
Well, if anyone wants to try my first map, you can get it from http://www.unrealplayground.com/download.php?mapid=8804
I'll post a few screenshots later.

_________________
Reality is that part of imagination we all agree on.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 6:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 10:31 pm
Posts: 165
Screenies first,download later :) .

_________________
666

~ The 0men ~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 8:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 171
Location: England
http://img211.exs.cx/img211/8898/shot00013small9lm.jpg
http://img154.exs.cx/img154/8313/shot00005small9gc.jpg
http://img154.exs.cx/img154/72/shot00006small3im.jpg
http://img211.exs.cx/img211/3218/shot00016small4cp.jpg

I'll try and get some pics with chaos weaps too...


[Edit]
Some more:
http://img28.exs.cx/img28/9007/chaosscreenshot10dj.jpg
http://img28.exs.cx/img28/5140/chaosscreenshot23ok.jpg
http://img115.exs.cx/img115/572/chaosscreenshot30ob.jpg
It's a small, fast paced map.

_________________
Reality is that part of imagination we all agree on.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 11:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 3:26 am
Posts: 1301
Location: Florida
Based on the screenies, I'd say you need to redo the lighting. The other thing is choose a theme, the second screenshot you posted shows like 8 different textures on the walls and ceilings... you should only need one texture for the wall and one for the ceiling, especially with such a small map. And if this is a UT2k4 map, you should give it more curves.

Hopefully you take this as constructive critism.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 5:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 171
Location: England
Bring on the criticism, any helpful advice is apreciated. :)

_________________
Reality is that part of imagination we all agree on.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 8:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2002 3:26 am
Posts: 1301
Location: Florida
Intro to mapping:
http://nalicity.beyondunreal.com/view_content.php?cid=4

Lighting:
http://www.planetunreal.com/corsix/?p=t ... hting.html
http://www.planetunreal.com/lode/lighting/lighting.html



Other sources:
http://wiki.beyondunreal.com
http://www.planetunreal.com/phalanx/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group